The Hell Butterfly

Music May #23: Steve’s Music Mix – Third Edition

First a quick apology about the format/layout of this post. Something went wrong and now there’s a white box that I can’t erase and some weird line spacing issues. Sorry about that.

Definitely didn’t see this earlier this week, so while there’s still time, today’s Music May is all about memory.

Here’s a reminder how it works:

Each week I will post 3 new questions so…

(1) Go to the music player of your choice and put it on shuffle
(2) Say the questions aloud and press play
(3) Use the song title as your answers
(4) NO CHEATING

Title your post “Steve’s Music Mix – …” and link back to this week’s page.

I always remember … Istanbul – They Might Be Giants

So take me back to Constantinople
No, you can’t go back to Constantinople
Been a long time gone, Constantinople
Why did Constantinople get the works?
That’s nobody’s business but the Turks

I never went to Constantinople, so I only remember it as Istanbul. In reality I’ve never been to either, but for the purpose of this post, let’s pretend I have. This can go either way. Either I’ll always remember Istanbul and not Constantinople, going off the title of the track. But going off the lyrics it means I’ll always remember Constantinople before it became Istanbul. In either case, I don’t know why it got the works: that’s nobody’s business but the Turks.
I always forget … Valerie – Ghost of the Robot
Um, yeah, so who’s Valerie? I don’t know a Valerie. Or do I? Maybe I do and I just can’t remember … Who’s Valerie?
I wish I could forget … Unlaced – Emilie Autumn
This is a bit of a scary track. I love a bit of violin shredding but Miss Autumn knows how to give you the creeps. It’s an incredible instrumental and she is wonderfully talented, but I wish I could forget it. Well, not true, but for the purpose of this post let’s say I do. Or perhaps, rather than wishing I could forget the actual track, maybe something is unlaced and I wish I could forget it. Maybe my shoes came untied and it’s all I can think about. Like OCD. They’re unlaced and it’s bothering me. I don’t know. If I remember correctly (pun not intended) this track was in one of the Saw movies. Perhaps that’s what I wish I could forget …
So I’ll always remember Constantinople/Istanbul yet I’ll never remember Valerie, poor gal. Must not have met her in Istanbul. But the one thing I wish I could forget is either the eerie electric violins, the fact something has become unlaced, or that god awful movie. This wasn’t such a good one for me this week, but I blame Spotify. Let’s hope for some better answers next time!
2 responses

  1. I haven’t heard they might be giants for a while! Cheers for the music memory 🙂

    May 23, 2014 at 3:48 pm

  2. Pingback: Take That Never Forgot, Neither Did These People… | Steve Says...

Leave a Reply

