The Hell Butterfly

Music May #11: Remy Zero – Save Me

Yesterday was unofficially my first proper date. I kind of want to count the first time M24 and I met, but that day consisted of four hours of walking in circles and a brief visit to a cafe for a drink. In some circles that might be considered a date, but compared to yesterday it’s tempting to say it didn’t count. To be honest it’s purely because I, selfishly, want to believe yesterday’s events were the first real date I’ve ever been on. I did get the lady balls to ask him via text if it counted as a date, and he conveniently avoided the question. I’ve decided to drop the subject and just believe what I want to believe.

Not that you people care too much, but for anyone curious enough to want to know, it went very well. Conversation – at the start at least – came a lot easier than the first time. Perhaps because I knew I could relax a bit more. The weather was annoyingly temperamental. It was sunny one moment, then chucking buckets the next. We dove into a cafe until it stopped and felt bad for not buying anything, but we avoided eye contact with the staff so we think we got away with it. Instead we walked in what had decided to be sun up to the coast and followed it round until we found a pub, he had a pint, then we went to the cinema. We saw Pompeii.

I’d tell you what the film was like only I stopped paying attention after about half an hour when he held my hand. I’d heard of it happening in films and tv dramas, and my sister had told me it happened, but I never believed it would. At very least not to me. But goddamnit he held my hand and it was the single most awesome moment of my week. Even better than having written my first play, better than having written two half decent essays, even better than finishing my second year of uni. That’s probably the main reason I wanted to say yesterday was my ‘first date’. The first time we met was a little awkward, a little strained on both our parts. But yesterday was more relaxed, conversation and even jokes were easier to make, and then obviously the whole hand-holding thing was like taking a fairly decent bowl of vanilla ice-cream then topping it with whipped cream, marshmallows and chocolate buttons.

Even before he left he said he’d like to meet again. People of The Hell Butterfly, I think I might be onto something good.

To celebrate this momentous occasion, here is one of my favourite Nightcore edits so far: Remy Zero – Save Me. Though I’ve never seen it, I’m told it is the theme track to Smallville. I heard the song once on Planet Rock and instantly loved it. I think it’s quite beautiful in Nightcore but, then again, that’s just me. And anyway, I just had an incredible day with an amazing guy .. today I’m afraid I don’t care if you hate it.

One response

  1. thenarcissistwrites

    That sounds like a lot of fun! šŸ™‚

    May 11, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Leave a Reply

