The Hell Butterfly

The Art of Repetition

When I think of the things I do on a daily basis I notice that, actually, I do pretty much the same thing every. single. day.

I wake up, fall asleep, wake up again. Half an hour of sitting up in bed wondering why on Earth I should get out from under the duvet then I manage to do so. Get dressed, check Facebook, Hotmail x3, WordPress, Youtube. Later I’ll probably play Fable on the XBox, watch Bleach then play some Facebook games. This will cycle until the end of the day. All the while I’m wondering if I can be bothered to eat and, if I can be bothered, wondering whether the kitchen is free. I have issues. Some days I’ll text M24, others I’ll chat to me Mam. But my day always ends shifting all my crap from the bed to my armchair, flipping all my pillows over, and cocooning myself into my duvet ready to do it all again tomorrow.

So honestly my entire week is just the same day over again.

I could easily change the things I do to make each day different. I could go outside instead of playing the XBox. I could turn off the internet and read a book. I could get an early morning, do some exercise and get an early night. Yeah, right, that last one was pushing it a bit.

But there are some things that I can’t change no matter how hard I tried.

The first is the amount of time it takes me to wake up in the morning. If I wake up and get out of bed instantly, I am incredibly disorientated. I could be walking around for twenty minutes doing things without realising I’ve done them. I need to wake up and go back to sleep, if only for a couple of minutes, so my body can get used to the idea of daylight. And then when I do wake up I have to sit in bed for up to half an hour grumbling. It takes that long for my brain to wake up. I need to adjust to the idea of actual movement. I’ll integrate myself to the coldness of my room in degrees and eventually, I’ll come to the natural conclusion that I should get up. I can’t force myself to leave my bed until that moment comes or I’ll not function right for a while afterwards.

It’s a weird wake-up ritual.

But I have another, weirder, ritual for going to sleep. It’s like OCD. I cannot go to sleep until I’ve turned every one of my pillows over. Even if I’ve turned them over earlier in the day, it’s just not right unless I do it before I go to sleep. I once tried to go to sleep without flipping them over. I couldn’t sleep. I tried for an hour and nothing. On realising I hadn’t turned my pillows, I did so, lay back down, and I fell asleep almost instantly. I don’t know why, but I just have to.

Of all the things I repeat in the day, I don’t think I have a favourite, as the Daily Prompt asks. I just go about my day and happen to do the same things. I guess if I had to pick one task during the day that I repeat the next day, and the next, and enjoy repeating it would be texting M24. He has a habit sometimes of not responding to a text mid-conversation and sometimes won’t text in a few days. Not that I want to hound him with my texts or that I have separation issues if he doesn’t respond. but it is nice to get to speak to him every day. I mean, why would I not like him talking to me?

It’s a little creepy thinking about how I could lay the action of my days over each other and they would map almost perfectly. Like those contour maps that you overlay with another to find similarities. My life would match perfectly. Perhaps this is a sign to shake things up a bit. Well, last Saturday I was most definitely not in Newquay with M24 so perhaps I should make sure that goes ahead. At least that way one day will be different.

4 responses

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Just Another Day | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Just Another Day in the world of WordPress – will we be found? | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Cuppa Joe | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  4. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT: Just Another Day | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Leave a Reply

