The Hell Butterfly

Steve’s Music Mix: Music May Edition

As you’ll be aware, this month on Jigokucho is all about the music. Essay #1 is done and essay #2 is in progress, however the deadline is approaching and so a real in-depth post is really not an option. To keep with the theme of Music May then, I am once again taking part in this nifty quiz, Steve’s Music Mix. I haven’t done one in a while so this could be fun.

Here’s a reminder how it works:

Each week I will post 3 new questions so…

(1) Go to the music player of your choice and put it on shuffle
(2) Say the questions aloud and press play
(3) Use the song title as your answers
(4) NO CHEATING

Title your post “Steve’s Music Mix – …” and link back to this week’s page.

I’m on … The Forbidden Line – Eyes Set To Kill

We are all tempted to cross the forbidden line
Stripped of our senses
We struggle between wrong and right
Deceit and disguise, you won’t get past their ties,
You’ve dug your grave too far deep,
Deceit and disguise will never get you by,
You’ve dug your grave too fucking deep.

I am struggling to know the difference between wrong and right. I’m on that forbidden line, trying to decide whether to cross it or not. Crossing it may lead me down the path of Wrong, but maybe crossing it will be the path of Right. I’ve been hiding, disguising myself and deceiving people. The problem is I’ve dug a grave for myself that I can’t get out of and now I’m on that forbidden line not knowing whether it’s right or wrong to cross it.

I’m in … Old Man – Redlight King

Well, in a literal sense I would hope I’m not in an old man .. But metaphorically, this song is about how he is like his old man: his Dad. So I am in my old man, not literally – thankfully – but in the sense that I’m leading the same life as my Dad. This doesn’t make too much sense, seeing as he drank, rode a motorcycle, and is now a buff in the IT industry. But I guess he brought me up like him. He gave me the important life lessons I needed, taught me how to take care of myself and how to not care about the haters. I’m still learning his lessons, but he is also still teaching them to me. He is teaching me how to live by the same principles he lives by. One lyric says “I am just like you”. My Dad never finished university – I am struggling to. But it goes deeper than that. I’m not really like him in the way he can hold a conversation with anyone, and can travel anywhere by himself whereas I can’t. But I suppose I can deal with situations calmly and rationally like him, I know the value of money like him, I appreciate the little things I have like him. So I may not be there yet, not a carbon copy, but I am in my Old Man through blood and through principal.

I’m over … Faster – Within Temptation

And I can’t live in a fairytale of lies
And I can’t hide from the feeling ’cause it’s right
And I go faster, faster, faster, faster for love
I can’t live in a fairytale of lies

I’m over the fairytale. I’m over the lies. I’m over waiting for a perfect ending and am going faster for love. Perhaps this is a hint that I should be more like my Dad and just do it without worrying about the consequences. I can’t hide from the feeling – this feeling feels right. An allusion to M24 maybe. I’ve never had a guy into me, and now there is one and I’m into him too. This feels right. But I know I’m not going to have the fairytale relationship where the guy sweeps me off my feet, we have a snazzy musical number and he kisses me in the rain while the credits fade into a cheesy love track. It’s going to be hard, and that fairytale is a lie. I’m over it. I’m over imagining that life because it can’t happen like that. But this feels right, so I can’t hide from the feeling. I should go faster for love.
So I’m on the forbidden line between wrong and right, and am in the same boat as my old man. I’m not sure what is wrong or right anymore and am tempted to cross that forbidden line, perhaps to learn what is wrong and right. It seems my Dad was on that same line, and he made the decision whether to cross it or not. And I am in my old man so I guess he’s in me too. I will also make that decision and, if he turned out alright, I guess that means I will too. And while I’m on this forbidden line trying to distinguish what is wrong, I know one thing that is right: this feeling. I am over the fairytale, and am willing to move faster in the name of love. Maybe this is what I want to know – I am tempted to cross the forbidden line to move forwards, to get over the fairytale and move faster for love. If I cross that line maybe I’ll learn what is the right path for me. But I do know that this feeling is right, so whether I cross that line or not, I know that being like my old man will help me make the right decision for me.
Today’s post comes courtesy of Spotify and Steve. Cheers, dude.
Now, back to my Shakespeare essay.
3 responses

  1. At least your answers made more sense than mine. Welcome back!

    May 6, 2014 at 3:59 pm

    • Required a bit of improvisation to get there but it kind of worked 😀 Glad to be back!

      May 6, 2014 at 4:13 pm

  2. Pingback: These People Entered A Different Type Of Song Contest… | Steve Says...

Leave a Reply

