The Hell Butterfly

Steve’s Music Mix – It’s a Journey

It’s that time again. That’s right: Monday. Blerghh, right? Well why not join the party and stick your music player on shuffle in the sake of entertainment? This week I find myself delving deep into the profound lyricism of my answers and make some interesting discoveries about myself and society. It’s an existential world we live in.

Here’s a reminder how it works:

Each week I will post 3 new questions so…

(1) Go to the music player of your choice and put it on shuffle
(2) Say the questions aloud and press play
(3) Use the song title as your answers
(4) NO CHEATING

Title your post “Steve’s Music Mix – …” and link back to this week’s page.

Where did you come from? Bullet With Butterfly Wings – Smashing Pumpkins

The world is a vampire sent to drai-ai-ain […] Despite all my rage I am still just a rat in a cage.

I used to be a rat in a cage. Wherever I came from I was trapped, probably against my will. And I’m still there, only now I’m angry. Getting all philosophical here I could suggest that the world, being the vampire that it is, has had me trapped all this time. Only now I know I’m trapped by it and am angry that it is draining the life out of me. In the words of the Pumpkins, “I still believe that I cannot be saved.” I came from a world where hope was lost, and it does not appear to have returned.

The music video for this track is also extremely fitting. If you can spare a few minutes of your busy day as slave to society, check it out. One of the most fitting videos I’ve had in the Music Mix to date.

Was it all worth it? The Beautiful People – Marilyn Manson

I have met some beautiful people in this messed up world that we’re all trapped in. The world may have been sent to drain us, but along the way I’ve met some wonderfully beautiful people: my best friends, some amazing bands, some incredible bloggers, M24 …

But I suppose we should take a deeper look at some of the lyrics:

The beautiful people, the beautiful people,
It’s all relative to the size of your steeple.
You can’t see the forest for the trees.
You can’t smell your own shit on your knees

There’s no time to discriminate,
Hate every motherfucker
That’s in your way.

So beauty is really just superficial. The people we think are beautiful aren’t at all what we think they are. So long as they have a big steeple, we say they’re the most wonderful thing since sliced bread. We’re all in the shit, proverbial or otherwise, and we’re lost in the very world we’re trapped in. Don’t trust anyone. In this vampiric world, you can’t afford to discriminate: hate every motherfucker that’s in your way. It’s the only way to survive.

Where are you going? The World We Knew – Daughtry

I didn’t see a change
But I know it’s not the same.
I’d bring it back if I could
But I know I’m not that clever.

Life’s so short
And it goes by fast
And we can’t get it back.

The world we knew,
It was so simple then.
Me and you,
Thought it would never end.
Oh what I wouldn’t do
To get back to
The world we knew.

I think this pretty much explains itself. Especially in the context of the other songs. It is incredibly fitting. Where am I going? I’m going forward to the past. I would do just about anything to get back to the world we knew before it turned into a vampire and was sent to drain us. I want to go back to the simple days with the beautiful people I’ve met. But I’m not that clever. Despite all my rage, I really am still just a rat in a cage. We’re kneeling in our own shit, blinded by artificiality, wishing we could go back to easier times. But we can’t. Despite all my rage, I can’t see the wood for the trees, but oh what I wouldn’t do to get back to the world we knew …

This was pretty dark this week, but shuffle doesn’t lie. There is a reason it spat these songs out at me in this order today. The world we knew before it went to shit was simpler and better than the one we live in now. It was worth being trapped by society to meet some beautiful people, but really in the grand scheme of things it wasn’t worth it at all because you can never really know someone. We’re all superficial, material creatures who do what we can to survive. And it wasn’t worth it because look where it’s got us: we’re angry, we’re lost, and we’re kneeling in our own excrement while we wish for days gone by. We can’t bring it back, and we know it. We would do anything to get back to the world we knew, but we’re not that clever so here we stay, trapped like rats in a cage, and ever-increasingly frustrated about it.

3 responses

  1. Help! Someone turn in the lights! Haha, great explanations to great answers.

    March 24, 2014 at 5:15 pm

    • Haha! Had a lot of fun with it this week. It’s true, shuffle doesn’t lie. I have 5,138 tracks on Spotify and it picked these three. It’s Fate. It’s dark, but it’s Fate 😛

      March 24, 2014 at 7:22 pm

  2. Pingback: These People Went Up Against The Music And The Music Won… | Steve Says...

Leave a Reply

