The Hell Butterfly

You know what I really hate?

Writer’s block.

Little bastard.

Fuckin’ hate the twat.

My coursework is only 750 words of creative writing. In any genre. On any subject. It has to be an adaptation so there’s even the option to use the basis of another text and just change it.

But do you think I can think of anything?

I chose to adapt some Aesop’s fables into flash fiction pieces based in a modern context. I have one, 307 words long. There are over 600 fables, but do you think I can find even one that I can bring into a modern context?

I’m fucked if I know what I’m doing.

The morals are clear in a number of them and could be brought into a modern context quite nicely and in interesting ways. But I cannot think of one. Well, I did think of one but I need another 450 words. That’s at least 2 fables. I have picked a few I like, but I have no idea what to do with them. As a matter of fact, I’m using this post as a rant, a plea for assistance, and as a way to stall so I don’t get more frustrated at my lack of creativity.

This piece is due tomorrow morning, first thing, and even if I can come up with another 450 words I have to write 750 words on top about why I did what I did etc.

Man, am I pissed.

If anyone is reading this with an idea for how I can turn the following morals into modern day scenarios, I will owe you one big time. I’ll dedicate a post to you next time or I’ll draw you a picture of a really big cookie. Or something. I don’t know, but I’m drawing a major blank and I don’t want to fail this course. Here are the morals/fables I have in mind:

1 – The Fawn and His Mother

A YOUNG FAWN once said to his Mother, “You are larger than a dog, and swifter, and more used to running, and you have your horns as a defense; why, then, O Mother! do the hounds frighten you so?” She smiled, and said: “I know full well, my son, that all you say is true. I have the advantages you mention, but when I hear even the bark of a single dog I feel ready to faint, and fly away as fast as I can.”

No arguments will give courage to the coward.

2 – The Laborer and the Snake

A SNAKE, having made his hole close to the porch of a cottage, inflicted a mortal bite on the Cottager’s infant son. Grieving over his loss, the Father resolved to kill the Snake. The next day, when it came out of its hole for food, he took up his axe, but by swinging too hastily, missed its head and cut off only the end of its tail. After some time the Cottager, afraid that the Snake would bite him also, endeavored to make peace, and placed some bread and salt in the hole. The Snake, slightly hissing, said: “There can henceforth be no peace between us; for whenever I see you I shall remember the loss of my tail, and whenever you see me you will be thinking of the death of your son.”

No one truly forgets injuries in the presence of him who caused the injury.

3 – The Hart and the Hunter

The Hart was once drinking from a pool and admiring the noble figure he made there. “Ah,” said he, “where can you see such noble horns as these, with such antlers! I wish I had legs more worthy to bear such a noble crown; it is a pity they are so slim and slight.” At that moment a Hunter approached and sent an arrow whistling after him. Away bounded the Hart, and soon, by the aid of his nimble legs, was nearly out of sight of the Hunter; but not noticing where he was going, he passed under some trees with branches growing low down in which his antlers were caught, so that the Hunter had time to come up. “Alas! alas!” cried the Hart:

“We often despise what is most useful to us.”

Seriously, if you can help me, I will be eternally grateful.

Leave a Reply

