The Hell Butterfly

Some Half-Assed Adaptation

Falling asleep in my lectures is seeming more and more of a likely possibility. Even the interesting ones, like Shakespeare and Darwin’s Origin of Species. I just can’t seem to keep my eyes open. And this lethargy has persisted even now. So, because I can’t think of a better post right now, and because this made me laugh at myself when I thought of the idea, I decided to do a little adaptation. Based on the struggles of staying awake in lectures, here are my adapted lyrics to the tune of Wake Me Up When September Ends by Green Day:

Wake Me Up When The Lecture Ends:

Summer has come and passed,
the good intent can never last.
Wake me up when the lecture ends.

Blurring faces of the class,
Seven seconds gone so fast.
Wake me up when the lecture ends.

Here comes the pain again,
yawning in the dark.
Changing the page again,
Destroying who we are.

As my memory rests,
I know I’ll forget what they taught.
Wake me up when the lecture ends.

Summer has come and passed,
this good intent can never last.
Wake me up when the lecture ends.

Sit out this hell again,
like we did when spring began.
Wake me up when the lecture ends.

As my memory rests
I know I’ll forget what they taught.
Wake me up when the lecture ends.

Summer has come to pass,
the good intent could never last.
Wake me up when the lecture ends.

Blurring face of the class,
twenty seconds gone so fast.
Wake me up when the lecture ends.
Wake me up when the lecture ends.
Wake me up when the lecture ends.

I’m amused by the simplest of things.

Also, I wish to redirect your attention back HERE to Project Spotlight #1. My housemate is doing his charity skydive in two months and could still do with some support. He is currently only on 25% of his donations and could always do with some encouraging words. Any messages of luck and well-wishes can be left here on the comments for me to pass on, and I don’t doubt he and the Wild Futures charity would be very grateful for donations!

Leave a Reply

