The Hell Butterfly

‘Mortality’ what?

My day began as normal. Nothing out of the ordinary occurred: I woke up, showered, did my hair, ate and went to my 1pm seminar, then came home again at 3pm during my free, just because I could. I only had thirty minutes at home before I had to leave again.

What begun as a normal day turned into an unexpectedly good one. In those thirty minutes I was back, I played two songs. Just two. Both by Thirty Seconds To Mars. The first was Hurricane. The second was City of Angels. They had quite the effect on me.

I’ve said, since its release, that City of Angels is quite an inspirational song. The video is incredible and, in a now-formed association with this inspiration, the opening notes alone are enough to bring to mind the positive connotations the song has. So, listening to this song and immediately leaving the house, I made my way back to uni.

Quite the change happened.

I looked up, not at my feet;
I took slower more powerful strides;
I took in my surroundings;
I smiled.

A journey for me involves keeping my head down and getting from A to B in as quick and direct a route as I can. This was how I had come home. Just this song, and the notion of belief and simply being that I associate with it, had changed this.

I found myself actually thinking – serious thinking – about life.

I am alive.

I am young.

I am capable.

I can do anything I want to. I have it in my power to become anything. I felt it, really felt it, like I never had before.

I felt strong. I felt powerful. I felt ready to face to the world. I looked at the trees. Felt the breeze.

 

Breathed.

 

I just breathed.

 

I am alive. And it feels fucking amazing.

3 responses

  1. infectedmongoose

    makes you think how short life is, and how we blow it in all the stress and shit we do. Great post!

    November 16, 2013 at 6:41 am

    • Exactly! It’s always good to remember to sit back and just be sometimes. There’s all the time in the world to do what we want. Thanks!

      November 16, 2013 at 3:11 pm

      • infectedmongoose

        oh, and here’s to your growing hell butterfly family!

        November 16, 2013 at 3:13 pm

Leave a Reply

